Site rebuild in progress!



AMORPHIS Resurface With Virgin Records Debut

April 4, 2003

Finland’s AMORPHIS have completed their forthcoming debut for Virgin Records entitled, Far From the Sun, marking a new era for the band. The self-produced release will be the band’s sixth album. Guitarist Esa Holopainen reflects on the band’s opportunity with a major label:

“Having had to go through all the contractual differences in the past, the future does really look bright at the moment. The process of making the album was easy and the schedule for the summer and autumn live dates is developing steadily. We aim to play European festivals over the summer and hit the road on our own in the Fall.”

Regarding the new album, Holopainen described the album as having a “heavier and more guitar-driven and band-oriented” approach than its predecessors.

Here is the complete tracklisting for Far From the Sun:
01. “Day Of Your Beliefs”
02. “Planetary Misfortune
03. “Evil Inside
04. “Mourning Soil
05. “Far From The Sun
06. “Ethereal Solitude
07. “Killing Goodness
08. “God Of Deception
09. “Higher Ground
10. “Smithereens

Far From the Sun is scheduled for a May 20th release.