Site rebuild in progress!



CATHEDRAL: 2-CD Earache Retrospective Plus Rarities Drops June 21st

May 26, 2004

Earache Records, in conjunction with CATHEDRAL, will be releasing a two-disc compilation of hits and rarities entitled The Serpent’s Gold on June 21st. The first disc, subtitled The Serpent’s Treasure, features the band’s “hits” spanning all their Earache releases; the second disc, The Serpent’s Chest, features three previously unreleased songs, two unreleased live tracks, and a handful of rare demos and re-workings of CATHEDRAL classics.

The Serpent’s Gold cover art will feature the work of longtime CATHEDRAL collaborator Dave Patchett (check it out here). Liner notes will feature in-depth interviews with frontman Lee Dorrian and guitarist Gaz Jennings, highlighted by exclusive photos and images from the band’s own archive. The complete tracklisting is as follows:

The Serpent’s Treasure:
01. “Ride
02. “Hopkins (Witchfinder General)
03. “Autumn Twilight
04. “Midnight Mountain
05. “Soul Sacrifice
06. “Enter the Worms
07. “Stained Glass Horizon
08. “Vampire Sun
09. “Cosmic Funeral
10. “Ebony Tears
11. “Melancholy Emperor
12. “Equilibrium
13. “Utopian Blaster
14. “Voodoo Fire
15. “Imprisoned In Flesh

The Serpent’s Chest:
01. “Hide and Seek
02. “Neophytes for Serpent Eve” (demo)
03. “Violet Breath
04. “Night of the Seagulls” (demo)
05. “Magic Mountain
06. “A Funeral Request” (live) (featuring Victor Griffin/Joe Hasselvander of PENTAGRAM and Scott Carlson of REPULSION)
07. “The Olde Oak Tree
08. “Schizoid Puppeteer
09. “Carnival Bizarre” (demo)
10. “Rabies” (WITCHFINDER GENERAL cover)
11. “Blue Light” (live)
12. “Commiserating the Celebration (of Life)” (demo)