DOWN to Release First Album in Five Years on Sept. 25th

DOWN, consisting of Philip Anselmo, Rex Brown, Pepper Keenan, Kirk Windstein and Jimmy Bower are set to release Down III – Over the Under on Sept. 25th through ILG/Warner Music Group. After releasing two records mainly as a side project, the band got together in the months before Hurricane Katrina to start working on new material. After the tragedy of the Hurricane in which the members were displaced and separated for many months, the band reconvened. It was obvious at the onset that this was no longer a side project. With everyone having honored their previous commitments with other bands, the New Orleans natives were focused on DOWN and DOWN alone, having found new life and a new bond through the common tragedies they all endured separately and collectively culminating in their most definitive record of their career.

In the summer of 2006, the band embarked on a six week European headline tour with no opening band, no product, and strictly by word of mouth, proceeded to sell out all 21 shows. Inspired by the response, the band reconnected in New Orleans to begin work on their most ambitious record to date. Having already tapped Warren Riker, who produced DOWN‘s 2nd release, Down II-A Bustle in Your Hedgerow, the band demoed some 18 songs in Nodferatu’s Lair, Philip Anselmo‘s studio in the swamps of Folsom, LA, with engineer David “Puma’ Troia. In February of 2007, the band commenced recording on their 3rd and most committed record to date. Recorded in Los Angeles between February and July, with a Canadian tour with BLACK SABBATH thrown in just for good measure, 15 songs were ultimately cut for Over the Under. The result is over 60 minutes of genre-defying music further solidifying their place at the forefront of heavy rock as only DOWN can do.

To chronicle the past five years leading up to the release of Down III – Over the Under, Philip Anselmo will be placing periodic installments to be released over the course of the next month on the band’s websites leading up to the release of the record. This is Philip‘s personal communication to the band’s loyal fan base and gives a 1st hand account the tragedy, isolation, rebirth and ultimate triumph of one of the most important band’s of our time. The 1st installment appears on August 17th on and

Down III – Over the Under
Full Track Listing:
1. “3 Suns And 1 Star”
2. “The Path”
3. “N.O.D”
4. “I Scream”
5. “On March The Saints”
6. “Never Try”
7. “Mourn”
8. “Beneath The Tides”
9. “His Majesty The Desert”
10. “Pillamyd”
11. “In The Thrall Of It All”
12. “Nothing In Return (Walk Away)”

3 thoughts on “DOWN to Release First Album in Five Years on Sept. 25th

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *