Site rebuild in progress!



IHSAHN: New Album After Drops January 26th

October 30, 2009

Former EMPEROR vocalist/guitarist IHSAHN will be releasing his new album, After, on January 26th (North America) through Candlelight Records. The follow-up to angL was recorded during the first half of 2009 at his own Symphonique Studio with some additional work at Toproom Studio. The new album completes the musician’s planned trilogy of initial recordings. Performing with the Norwegian icon are drummer Asgeir Mickelson (SPIRAL ARCHITECT), bassist Lars K. Norberg (SPIRAL ARCHITECT), and saxophonist Jorgen Munkeby (SHINING). Ihsahn comments:

“This is my first album written with 8-string guitars as basis which has been both challenging and inspiring. I also decided early on that I wanted to mix this album with Jens Bogren (OPETH, KATATONIA) and recorded the album with that in mind. Asgeir and Lars have again delivered superb performances. I’ve always wanted to implement the saxophone in my music; Jorgen’s contributions truly added a silver lining to the album.

“I have felt more confident and more at ease with the material. In letting the songs themselves lead the way I just followed the natural impulses.”

Confirmed track listing for After is: 1. “The Barren Lands” 2. “A Grave Inversed” 3. “After” 4. “Frozen Lakes on Mars” 5. “Undercurrent” 6. “Austere” 7. “Heavens Black Sea” 8. “On the Shores