Site rebuild in progress!



New AMORPHIS Album To Arrive March 2006

December 11, 2005

The new AMORPHIS album, Eclipse, is scheduled for release in mid March 2006 on Nuclear Blast Records.

Introducing new vocalist Tomi Joutsen (SINISTHRA), AMORPHIS’ seventh full-length release in their 15-year career marks a fresh start for the Finnish band. Thematically, however, the group has come full circle, returning once more to the subject of the “Kalevala,” the Finnish national epic that provided the inspiration for the classic, Tales from the Thousand Lakes.

Eclipse tells the tale of Kullervo, the ill-fated “Kalevala” hero whose tragic childhood and ensuing struggle for a place in society result in despair, evil deeds and ultimate self-destruction. The lyrics are adapted from Kullervo’s Story (1982, transl. Anselm Hollo), a play by Paavo Haavikko (b. 1931), one of Finland’s most esteemed contemporary poets.

Matching the dramatic twists and turns of the Kullervo saga, AMORPHIS’ music evokes an encompassing range of emotions unmatched by any of their previous albums. From the surprising tenderness of the piano-dominated “House of Sleep,” which was chosen as the first single, to the unbridled fury of “Perkele (The God of Fire),” the band intrepidly set out to explore a more diverse territory than ever on their eternal quest for the perfect melody. And be there no doubt about it: the growls are back with a vengeance!

The cover artwork for Eclipse was created by Travis Smith.

The follow-up to last year’s Far from the Sun, Eclipse was recorded at Sonic Pump studios in Helsinki with engineer Nino Laurenne (THUNDERSTONE). The production duties were handled by the band and Marco Hietala (NIGHTWISH) for vocals. The mixing was taken care of by Mikko Karmila (who previously worked with the group on Am Universum) at Finnvox Studios in Helsinki.

Eclipse tracklisting:
01. “Two Moons
02. “House of Sleep
03. “Leaves Scar
04. “Born from Fire
05. “Under a Soil and Black Stone
06. “Perkele (The God of Fire)
07. “The Smoke
08. “Same Flesh
09. “Brother Moon
10. “Empty Opening
11. “Stonewoman” (bonus track)