Site rebuild in progress!



THE MARS VOLTA Sophomore Album Details Revealed

December 18, 2004

THE MARS VOLTA have completed work on their sophomore album, Frances the Mute. The album was produced by guitarist Omar Rodriguez-Lopez and mixed by Rich Costey (AUDIOSLAVE, MUSE, CAVE-IN) between January and October.

Frances the Mute is a 77 minute seamless epic consisting of five songs and several sub-movements:
1. “Cygnus….Vismund Cygnus
  a. Sarcophagi
  b. Umbilical Syllables
  c. Facilis Descenus Averni
  d. Con Safo
2. “The Widow
3. “L’ Via L’ Viaquez
4. “Miranda That Ghost Just Isn’t Holy Anymore
  a. Vade Mecum
  b. Pour Another Icepick
  c. Pisacis (Phra-Men-Ma)
  d. Con Safo
5. “Cassandra Gemini
  a. Tarantism
  b. Plant A Nail In The Navel Stream
  c. Faminepulse
  d. Multiple Spouse Wounds
  e. Sarcophagi

The Widow” will be released as a single and there are initial plans for an accompanying video as well. THE MARS VOLTA debuted an early, acoustic version of the song at shows they played at THE WILTERN in Los Angeles back in May.

Storm Thorgerson, who did the artwork for the band’s debut, De-Loused in the Comatorium, will be handling the cover art again.

A release date for the vinyl edition has been set for March 22nd via Omar’s Gold Standard Laboratories label. A release for the CD version (through Universal Music) has not yet been announced but will likely preceed the release of the vinyl.