ANATHEMA Plan to Release Two New Albums in 2008

The UK’s ANATHEMA have announced plans to release two new albums this year including a semi-acoustic album of older songs. The band issued the following update:

“We have taken all of our recording equipment to a house in England where we have built a studio and begun the first of two records to be released this year. The recording has been going very well.

“This first record is a semi-acoustic recording of many of our most loved older tracks. This will be released on Peaceville Records. The working title is Temporary Peace.

“The songs to be included on Temporary Peace are:

“‘Angelica‘, ‘Leave No Trace‘, ‘Inner Silence‘, ‘One Last Goodbye‘, ‘Are You There?‘, ‘Fragile Dreams‘, ‘A Natural Disaster‘, ‘Temporary Peace‘ and ‘Flying‘.

“The record will be a substantial work, arranged by Danny [Cavanagh] and performed and produced by the band, recorded and engineered by our own Les Smith, who was responsible for the recordings of ‘Everything‘ and the other new songs released online last year.

“This will also feature the cello of Dave Wesling, who previously toured with Vincent [Cavanagh] and Danny in 2004 and is featured on the DVD A Moment in Time.

“It may also include a reworking of one or two classic tracks from the very early days of anathema.

“In late winter/early spring, immediately following the recording of this semi-acoustic album, we will enter a studio to record the next full length anathema album, which be produced by ANATHEMA and mixed by Steven Wilson, independently from a record company.

“Upon completion, the new album will be licensed around the world, giving us artistic and creative control and keeping the rights to the music in our own hands.

“All being well, you will see the release of two records from anathema this year. A semi acoustic classic tracks album, and a full length new album.

“Then touring…”

Anneke Van Giersbergen, Danny Cavanagh Schedule One-Off Show

Anneke Van Giersbergen (AGUA DE ANNIQUE, ex-THE GATHERING) and Danny Cavanagh (ANATHEMA) have announced a special one-off show where each musician will perform a solo set, followed by a special set with both musicians. Each musicians plan to feature classic songs from their long careers in THE GATHERING and ANATHEMA, respectively, as well as some new and obscure songs. The performance will take place at Little Devil in Tilburg, The Netherlands on January 2, 2008.

ANTIMATTER – Leaving Eden

Time marches on as Mick Moss (vocals/guitar) powers ANTIMATTER‘s first album without its other founding member in Duncan Patterson. And Moss admirably and impressively creates the band’s best album to date. Leaving Eden is a collection of sweeping tides of emotional atmospheres. The soulful yet melancholic feel is undeniably potent and leaves quite an impression. Much of the songs take on a more rock-ish feel this time around with a healthy dosage of electric guitars, and less minimalist elements of the past. However, ANTIMATTER‘s trademark acoustic guitars are ever present. Moss has also employed a full band, which most notably includes ANATHEMA‘s Danny Cavanagh on guitars, piano, and vocals. Cavanagh‘s contributions play an integral part on the album’s success as his piano and lead guitar work help to take the songs to new levels. Songs such as “Redemption,” “Another Face in the Window,” and “Freakshow” are some of the heaviest songs that the band have ever written. ANTIMATTER aim to achieve PINK FLOYD-level heights of emotion and atmosphere and they certainly come as close as one can get. There are also plenty of acoustic guitar-based songs that are perfectly complemented by violins, bass, and drums. At the end of the day, Mick Moss is the star of Leaving Eden as his warm, soulful vocals are as good as it gets. Without a doubt, Leaving Eden is ANTIMATTER‘s most accomplished and profound work to date. Definitely a candidate for one of the year’s top releases. (Prophecy Productions)