DEVIN TOWNSEND PROJECT Offers Up Free Five Song EP in Exchange for a Tweet

Devin Townsend has released a free five song acoustic EP under the DEVIN TOWNSEND PROJECT banner featuring tracks “Supercrush,” “Kingdom,” “Truth,” “Om,” and “By Your Command.”

Free music rules. Score yourself a copy in exchange for a Tweet or Facebook post at this link:

In related news, Townsend is hard at work on two albums slated for a 2011 release, Deconstruction and Ghost. Peep this video of the man himself giving a glimpse of orchestra tracking on Deconstruction:

[youtube 2EeaPnTvsH0]

Download MetalSucks’ Free Compilation NYC Sucks, Volume 1

MetalSucks has released a free (as in beer) compilation called NYC Sucks, Volume 1 featuring 14 New York area extreme metal bands.

Here’s the tracklist:

1. EAST OF THE WALL, “The Ladder”
2. MADE OUT OF BABIES, “Invisible Ink”
4. BLACK ANVIL, “The Evil of All Roots”
5. NAAM, “Frosted Tread”
6. BATILLUS, “The Children of the Night Make Their Music”
7. MEEK IS MURDER, “Sundowners” (demo)
8. THE BINARY CODE, “Encircled”
9. CASTEVET, “Stones”
10. HUNG, “Desert of Sad”
11. WIZARDRY, “The Falconer”
12. PYRRHON, “King of All Tears”
14. INCENDIARY, “Victory in Defeat”

Download the album here:

Volume 2 comes out February 22nd!

Metal Swim: Free Compilation of Rare, Unreleased Metal Courtesy of Adult Swim and Scion A/V

Adult Swim, the home of DETHKLOK and Metalocalypse, and Scion A/V, who have been responsible for a wave of metal fests and free shows, have come together to bring you Metal Swim, a collection of 16 rare or unreleased metal. The album is free to download and features the following tracks:

SKELETONWITCH – “Bringers of Death”
TORCHE – “Arrowhead”
LUDICRA – “Path of Ash”
KYLESA – “Forsaken”
BLACK TUSK – “Fatal Kiss”
RED FANG – “Hank is Dead”
BLACK COBRA – “Frozen Night”
SAVIOURS – “Dixie Dieway”
WITCH MOUNTAIN – “Veil of the Forgotten”
ISIS – “Pliable Foe”
JESU – “Dethroned”
PELICAN – “Inch Above Sand”
ZOROASTER – “Witch Hammer”
WITHERED – “Extinguished With the Misery”
BORIS – “Luna”

Visit the Metal Swim site to download the free album and view interviews and performance footage from past Scion Rock Fests:

Hydra Head Launch New Digital Music Store; Download Free Sampler

Hydra Head Records has launched their new online music store featuring music from the label’s roster, which includes OXBOW, CAVE IN, HARVEY MILK, PELICAN, TORCHE, and many more:

To celebrate the launch, they are offering a free 22-track sampler dubbed Phoning It In. Here’s the tracklist:

1. OXBOW + PHILIPE THIPHAINE – “Coalking” From Songs for the French (5:46)
2. DAUGHTERS – “The First Supper” From “s/t” (3:18)
3. BOHREN & DER CLUB OF GORE – “Unkerich” From Dolores (5:31)
4. KNUT – “Calamity” From Wonder (1:43)
5. THE AUSTERITY PROGRAM – “Song 27” From Backsliders and Apostates Will Burn (4:04)
6. PYRAMIDS With NADJA – “Another War” From Pyramids With Nadja (15:27)
7. HELMS ALEE – “Lionize” From Lionize/Truly 7″ (2:45)
8. HAYAINO DAISUKI – “Ghosts of Purgatory” From The Invincible Gate Mind of the Infernal Fire Hell, or Did You Mean Hawaii Daisuki? (2:43)
9. HARVEY MILK – “I Know This Is No Place For You” From A Small Turn of Human Kindness (5:07)
10. LA GRITONA – “Tony Alamo” From Demasiado Tonto Para Los Ninos Listos. Demasiado Listo Para Los Ninos Tontos (4:38)
11. STEPHEN BRODSKY – “Here In Spirit” From Here’s to the future (5:54)
12. JODIS – “Continents” From Secret House (7:27)
13. NIHILL – “Mundus Subterreanus” From Krach (5:16)
14. CAVE IN – “Retina Sees Rewind” From Planets of Old (2:30)
15. KAYO DOT – “II. Whisper Ineffable” From Coyote (11:13)
16. KEELHAUL – “THC for One” From Keelhaul’s Triumphant Return to Obscurity (3:34)
17. CLOUDS – “New Bombs” From B Chuggas May Be Logging (2:08)
18. XASTHUR – “UNTITLED 4/05” From 2005 Demo (7:02)
19. GRIDLINK – “Amber Gray” From Amber Gray (1:06)
20. GREYMACHINE – “Wasted” From Disconnected (8:43)
21. BERGRAVEN – “Hunger” From Till Makabert Vasen (7:08)
22. TORCHE – “UFO” From Songs For Singles (2:01)

Go download Phoning It In for free!

Download LADY SINATRA’s Hisses and Kisses Album for Free!

It’s #musicmonday in the Twitterverse and in celebration of that, Los Angeles’s LADY SINATRA are giving away free downloads of their album, Hisses and Kisses, in exchange for a tweet.

Get the album by retweeting this tweet:

Then visit the band around the internet for samples, upcoming shows, and more info:

SKELETONWITCH, DOOMRIDERS Announced for Next Free Scion Metal Shows in Los Angeles, Atlanta

SKELETONWITCH and DOOMRIDERS will be sharing the stage for the next Scion Metal shows. The all ages shows are free with RSVP, though entry is not guaranteed so get there early. Here are the details:

Wednesday, February 10, 2010, 8pm-11pm
Masquerade, 695 North Ave NE, Atlanta, GA 30308

Los Angeles:
Thursday, February 11, 2010, 8pm-11pm
The Roxy, 9009 Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069

RSVP now:


JELLO BIAFRA AND THE GUANTANAMO SCHOOL OF MEDICINE‘s New Album, The Audacity of Hype, is being offered as a free download from for one week and from eMusic today only!

Download the album from

Download from eMusic here:

Read the APESHIT review of The Audacity of Hype here:

DARKTHRONE’s Fenriz Releases Second Free Compilation for Vice Magazine

Fenriz of DARKTHRONE has compiled a second compilation for Vice Magazine called Trapped Under Vice Vol. II. In contrast to Vol. I‘s thrash metal mix, Vol. II is what Fenriz calls “soulful proto-metal (metal before there was metal)” from 1968-1978.

Here’s the tracklist:
1. FEVER TREE (USA) “Filigree & Shadow” (1968)
2. ICE CROSS (Iceland) “Jesus Freaks” (1978)
3. CARAVAN (UK) “Cecil Rons” (1968)
4. GUN (UK) “Race with the Devil” (1968)
5. SPOOKY TOOTH (UK) “Better by You, Better Than Me” (1969)
6. LUCIFER’S FRIEND (Germany/UK) “Lucifer’s Friend” (1970)
7. CACTUS (USA) “Parchman Farm” (1970)
8. SCORPION (USA) “Take A Look At Yourself” (1969)
9. SIT LORD BALTIMORE (USA) “Lady of Fire” (1970)
10. BLACK WIDOW (UK) “In Ancient Days” (1970)
11. THE OPEN MIND (UK) “Thor, the Thunder God” (1969)
12. FLAX (Norway) “Demon in Your Heart” (1976)
13. LOBBY LOYDE & TGE CIKIYRED BAKKS (Australia) “Human Being” (1973)
14. AMON DÜÜL II (Germany) “Archangel [Live]” (1975)
15. JANE (Germany) “Janesession” (1975)
16. BLACK OAK ARKANSAS (USA) “When Electricity Came to Arkansas [Live]” (1973)

Read the Vice Magazine announcement and download the compilation.

MASTODON: Free MySpace Secret Show in New Mexico

MASTODON will be playing a free show this Wednesday, April 15th as a part of the MySpace Secret Shows series at The Launchpad in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

The all-ages show is first come, first served.  Doors open at 7pm; show begins at 7:30pm. Support will come from KYLESA and INTRONAUT, both of who are currently on tour with MASTODON.

For more information on the show, visit

MASTODON‘s forthcoming new album, Crack the Skye, officially hits stores May 5th.  Visit the Crack the Skye website for samples:

SANCTUS Make Rarities Available for Free Download

Deactivated death/black metal band, SANCTUS, have made a pair of rare recordings available for free download on their new discography site at

Fateshifter, the band’s swansong EP released in 2003, and their original demo from 1998 (when the band was called PANTHEON) have been posted for download. Only 50 copies each the EP and the demo were ever made. The once band from Southern California encourage sharing and online distribution of the music.

SANCTUS, who’s only full-length release, Aeon Sky, was released on Metal Blade Records in 2000, disbanded in 2004. Though Aeon Sky is no longer in print, it is not currently available for download on the site.