APESHIT’s Top Metal Albums of 2015

motorheadWhen looking back at 2015, the only thing that seems to matter is the passing of Lemmy Kilmister. Of course losing Phil “Philthy Animal” Taylor in November was sad but Lemmy was on another level – one of the pillars of the entire rock ‘n roll universe. Thankfully, he left a voluminous legacy for us to enjoy for eternity, including some of music’s best interviews and quotes possible. Cheers, Lemmy.

Other than that, 2015 was a remarkably strong year for the pioneering, long-running bands in the metal scene.  Everyone from KILLING JOKE, MY DYING BRIDE, FEAR FACTORY to AMORPHIS put out fantastic records. This past year also saw some very good super groups in TAU CROSS and FIRESPAWN make their debuts.  You’ll find that many of them made it to our respective lists.

Additionally, we’ve recruited some fresh blood in Charles Elliott, Andrew Sample, and Jeff Wagner. These industry vets have been in the trenches with us for years and years, and have helped bring you many of the greatest records ever released for the past 20+ years.
Continue reading

Death Metal Supergroup VALLENFYRE Jumps into the Studio

VALLENFYRE has officially entered the studio to record their second full-length album and follow-up to 2011’s A Fragile King entitled Splinters.

Gregor Mackintosh (vocals and lead guitars) comments: “We have now arrived in a very cold Salem, MA and are currently holed up in Godcity Studio with producer Kurt Ballou tracking drums for our second album, ‘Splinters‘. We are really digging Kurt‘s honest, old-fashioned approach to recording. No triggers or samples. Just a good drum kit, good mics and a good drummer.”

In 2011, Gregor Mackintosh (PARADISE LOST) announced that he would go back to his death metal roots with his new band, VALLENFYRE. The level of expectation was set high with a line-up consisting of Hamish Glencross (guitar – MY DYING BRIDE), Scoot (bass – DOOM, EXTINCTION OF MANKIND), Adrian Erlandsson (drums – AT THE GATES, PARADISE LOST, THE HAUNTED) – and of course, Gregor on vocals (for the first time in his career!). Their debut, A Fragile King, was a reference to Gregor‘s father’s (lost) battle with cancer.

Check out the music video for “Cathedrals of Dread” from their debut:

Preview Documentary Included in Special Edition of MY DYING BRIDE’s A Map of All Our Failures

Check out the trailer for the documentary featured on the special edition of MY DYING BRIDE‘s forthcoming album, A Map of All Our Failures, which contains a CD & DVD in a mediabook with 20 page booklet.

Joining the album songs is the exclusive bonus track,  “My Faults Are Your Reward,” plus a special DVD featuring a full-length documentary on the band, as each member defines what it is like to be part of MY DYING BRIDE, from their early beginnings and ambitions, to recollections of life and experiences on the road.

MY DYING BRIDE to Release A Map of All Our Failures October 2012

MY DYING BRIDE has announced the title of its forthcoming release, A Map of All Our Failures, due out in Europe on October 15, 2012 and in North America on October 16, 2012 via Peaceville Records. The album will be released in CD, double vinyl and special edition CD/DVD formats.

Guitarist Andrew Craighan, who describes the album as, “a controlled demolition of all your hopes.”

The album recording and mix was recently completed at Futureworks Studios in Manchester UK, with long-standing production maestro, Mags, at the helm.

MY DYING BRIDE’s 10th Studio Album Titled For Lies I Sire

U.K.’s MY DYING BRIDE are set to release their 10th studio album and first since 2006’s A Line of Deathless Kings on March 23rd through Peaceville Records.  The album, titled For Lies I Sire, features three new members, including violinist, Katie Stone.

Here is the album tracklist:
01. “Fall With Me
02. “My Body, A Funeral
03. “The Lies I Sire
04. “Bring Me Victory
05. “Echoes From A Hollow Soul
06. “ShadowHaunt
07. “Santuario Di Sangue
08. “A Chapter in Loathing
09. “Death Triumphant

A microsite has been launched to promote the album. A full mp3 is available for those who sign up for the Peaceville mailing list:

Also, the band’s official website has samples from the full album. Check out the samples here:

MY DYING BRIDE – A Line of Deathless Kings

The venerable MY DYING BRIDE have been steadily dooming it out since the dawn of extreme, underground metal in the early 90’s. Then equipped with metal’s only violin, MY DYING BRIDE flaunted a uniqueness and spice that peaked with 1998’s very experimental 34.788%…Complete album. Subsequent albums, however, characterized the band as reborn with some new members and a refocused effort to rekindle their doom-laden roots. A Line of Deathless Kings sits comfortably in that era of safe, predictable, post-34.788% dirge. The guitars lay the groundwork for a dark and emotional voyage into pain and despair with Aaron Stainthorpe’s sorrowful croon spitting tears of hurt and worry (along with a few tasty death growls). Unfortunately though, while all the key elements are in place, A Line of Deathless Kings is sorely lacking any salt and pepper. The band meddle in relative flavorlessness sans violin and any sort of drive to create a compelling musical capsule. Songs are lengthy and mostly forgettable. While faithfuls of the band’s original style will no doubt toast the band’s latest accomplishment, those seeking something more from their music will certainly be let down. With nine albums under their belt, one would certainly expect far greater from these darling metal veterans.

MY DYING BRIDE’s A Line of Deathless Kings Coming this Halloween

Peaceville/Snapper Music today confirm October 31 as the U.S. release date for A Line of Deathless Kings, the new album from Yorkshire, England’s MY DYING BRIDE. It is the band’s ninth studio effort and introduces drummer John Bennett.

Since their inception in the early 90’s the band are one of metal’s most distinguishable artists. A Line of Deathless Kings reunites the six-piece with long-time collaborator/producer Mags (who recorded the bands initial compositions). Mixed at The Chapel Studios in Lincolnshire and mastered at famed Abbey Road Studios in London, it is a highly anticipated return for a pioneering band.

A video has already been filmed for album track, “Deeper Down.” The clip directed by Charlie Granberg (who also conceptualized KATATONIA‘s “My Twin” and “Deliberation” videos earlier this year).