DJERV – Djerv

North America finally gets an official release for DJERV‘s excellent full-length debut record. Let it be known right off the bat that this is one of the best albums of 2012.

Infectious, catchy, and rockin’, DJERV feature the talents of vocalist Agnete Kjølsrud (ANIMAL ALPHA), guitarist Stian Kårstad (TRELLDOM), and drummer Erlend Gjerde (STONEGUARD). The band’s sound can best be described as Norwegian black metal with major rock/heavy metal influences. The songs are direct, compact, energetic, and made for maximum hooks. In a way, it’s a pure sound that should easily crossover to mainstream audiences.

Not to take away from the other members of DJERV but what is immediately different about the band is Agnete Kjølsrud‘s amazing voice. She is a unique superstar with the talent, presence, attitude and charisma to back it up. Agnete can do it all – croon, shout, scream, show aggression, and exercise subtlety. Other (female) vocalists in metal just can’t compare, except for STOLEN BABIESDominique.

Guitarist Stian Kårstad does a great job in the riffing department as he crafts each song with a Norwegian black metal foundation that surpasses the efforts of SATYRICON and DARKTHRONE in incorporating rock/heavy metal influences into the album’s sound without losing its edge and potency. Drummer Erlend Gjerde locks in perfectly and delivers the headstomping beats.

DJERV mix things up well with a variety of different flavors across the album. The different influences involved in the band’s sound take turns taking predominance from song to song or song section to song section without sounding like a cut and paste job.

The bottom line is that DJERV‘s debut full length album is absolutely killer and a mandatory purchase. (Indie Recording)

GOD SEED Announce New Album & Full Line-Up

GOD SEED have revealed plans for a new album and also unveiled a new line-up. Founding members Gaahl (ex-GORGOROTH) and King ov Hell (ex-GORGOROTH) will now be joined by:

Sir (TRELLDOM, DJERV) – Guitar
Kenneth Kapstad (MOTORPSCHYCO) – Drums
Geir Bratland (DIMMU BORGIR) – Keys & Noise
Lust Kilman (THE BATALLION, GRIMFIST) – Guitar

In regards to the change, King stated: “All members of GOD SEED have been carefully picked for their musical skills and devoted personalities. We aim to release an album which will sound different than what we have done in the past. The new members have been very important for creating a sound that hopefully will come across as unique and defining the new GOD SEED sound. From this moment, GOD SEED should not be viewed as a duo anymore, but as a band with six members.”

The band is currently at work on a new album — their official studio debut — for which no release date has yet been set. So far, all of the music has been written and recorded at various locations in Norway, and Gaahl is currently working on completing lyrics and vocal arrangements. GOD SEED will reveal material from the upcoming album this week during a two-hour lecture at the Inferno Music Conference during the Inferno Metal Festival. Attendees will not only be able to hear material from the upcoming album, but the lecture will also include a discussion with King and Geir Bratland on their recording process and the philosophy behind the upcoming release.

King commented: “I’m really looking forward to presenting the new music I’ve been working on for the last two years. We have put a lot of work into creating something very unique. We will give some previews from the GOD SEED album, but more importantly, we will give a detailed presentation on how we have made the songs. Geir will demonstrate how he has created the noise and key arrangements on the recordings.”