Song of the Day: MANES’ “Solve Et Coagula” Featuring SHINING’s Niklas Kvarforth

In 2009, Norway’s MANES put out a six-song compilation called Solve Et Coagula, which featured a new song plus old demo material from the band’s black metal days.  MANES got none other than the uber talented Niklas Kvaroforth from SHINING (SWE) to sing guest vocals for the title track.  [Update: The song also features XASTHUR‘s Malefic.  Thanks to MANES for the correction.  Proof that websites don’t have all the answers.] Listen to this masterpiece of doom laden darkness:

XASTHUR’s New Album, All Reflections Drained, Out May 26th

XASTHUR‘s next evolution in experimental, black metal art is set to materialize on May 26th in the form of All Reflections Drained via Hydra Head Records.  Recorded through 2007 and 2008, All Reflections Drained marks the first XASTHUR release with guest vocalist and ambient afficionado, M.H.

The CD version includes a second disc of bonus material, and includes alternate versions, unreleased song and several covers. Though the extra songs should not be confused as supplement to the album proper, they do provide a rare glimpse into the process. The double CD is housed in DVD style digipack, with cover art provided by Tim Lehi and photography by Faith Coloccia.

Track list is as follows:
1. “Dirge Forsaken” (5:42)
2. “Maze of Oppression” (5:16)
3. “Achieve Emptiness Part II” (4:59)
4. “Masquerade of Incisions” (15:53)
5. “Damage Your Soul” (4:53)
6. “Inner Sanctum Surveillance” (7:03)
7. “Obfuscated in Oblivion” (5:26)
8. “All Reflections Drained” (7:58)