Site rebuild in progress!



KUOLEMANLAAKSO's Sophomore Release Coming February 2014

January 14, 2014

Svart Records has set February 28th as the international release date for KUOLEMANLAAKSO’s Tulijoutsen (“The Fire Swan”), the highly acclaimed Finnish death-doomsters’ second album and their most ambitious work to date. Produced once again by TRIPTYKON/DARK FORTRESS guitarist V. Santura, the 50-minute album was inspired by the grandeur of the Finnish forests, serene eeriness of the lakes, and early 1900s poetry and folklore. Thus, it was only natural for the band to live the lyrics, so to speak, and isolate themselves in a secluded location in the middle of the woods and capture the true essence of the songs on hard disk.

Here is the track “Tuonen tähtivyö”:

Musically, KUOLEMANLAAKSO have taken giant leaps in new territories on Tulijoutsen, but not forgetting the crushing heaviness and the love for the avant-garde, which define the KUOLEMANLAAKSO sound. Compared to previous material, Tulijoutsen offers a fresh variety of vocal acrobatics, bigger choruses, catchier melodies, and fuller arrangements.

KUOLEMANLAAKSO lineup: Kotamäki (SWALLOW THE SUN, ex-BARREN EARTH) – vocals Laakso (CHAOSWEAVER) – guitar and keys Kouta (CHAOSWEAVER, ex-VERJNUARMU) – guitar Usva (THE NIBIRUAN, ex-ELENIUM) – bass Tiera (CULT OF ENDTIME, ex-DISCARD) – drums